The delete button is a shortcut to allow you to quickly delete the current page, without the need to go into page settings.
It will first confirm you wish to delete the page incase you click it by mistake. Clicking cancel will hide the menu without deleting the page.
Once confirmed the page will be deleted and the page will update to show your 404 page.
You can then use the usual website navigation to go to another page you wish to edit.